League Information

Community Leaders:

Sharon Ailslieger




League ID:


Email This League

Ask questions, get information

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
7 + 13 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.

Stories From Around the State

  • Date: March 4, 2010

    Location: 20th Century Club Auditorium, Wichita, Kansas

    Partners: American Association of University Women (AAUW), National Organization for Women (NOW) 

    Judge Karen Humphreys of the U.S. District Court was a featured speaker on judicial diversity in Kansas.  Her remarks became the topic of an opinion-editorial, "Courts Need More Women Judges," in The Wichita Eagle.

  • Date: March 2, 2010

    Topeka-Shawnee County Public Library, Topeka, Kansas

    Washburn University; Topeka-Shawnee County Public Library

    The League of Women Voters of Topeka/Shawnee County held the first of multiple meetings highlighting judicial diversity, featuring remarks from Professor Jeffrey Jackson of Washburn University.  For the next six months, the League met at the library to discuss judicial diversity for monthly "Tuesday Topics" sessions. 

  • Date: February 22, 2010

    Saline County, Kansas

    Saline County Board of Commissioners; National Organization for Women (NOW), American Association of University Women (AAUW)

    The President of the League of Women Voters of Salina, Ann Zimmerman, presented to the Saline Board of County Commissioners on the League’s "Quest for a More Diverse Judiciary" education campaign.  She highlighted the current state of diversity in the courts in Saline County.  The County Commissioners in Saline County are responsible for selecting the county’s nominating commissioners.


  • Date: February 18, 2010

    Location: Castle Tea Room, Lawrence, Kansas

    Partners: Douglas County Judicial Nominating Commission; County Commissioners; Kansas University; Lawrence Bar Association

    The League of Women Voters of Lawrence/Douglas County held a reception to celebrate the League's 90th anniversary and to get to know the Douglas County Judicial Nominating Commission and County Commissioners.  Attendees included Douglas County Commissioners Mike Gaughan, Nancy Thellman, and Jim Flory; Kansas 7th District Nominating Commission Members Joan Nitcher, Janine Cox, and Kurt von Achen; Douglas County Justices Robert W. Fairchild, Jean Shepherd, Michael Malone, Paula Martin, and Judge George; Lawrence Bar Association Officer Richard Hird; and Kansas University Administration Coordinator Karen Hester. 

  • Date: January 28, 2010

    Location: Johnson County, Kansas

    Partners:  Johnson County Board of Commissioners 

    Co-President Candy Birch met with the Johnson County Board of Commissioners to present the League’s “Quest for a More Diverse Judiciary” education campaign and speak about the importance of diversity on the bench overall.

  • Date: January 6, 2010 

     Emporia Public Library, Emporia, Kansas

    Partners: Emporia Library System

    Judge Merlin Wheeler of Lyon County discussed the structure of the Kansas judiciary and the function of the local District Court with the audience.

  • The education campaign of the League of Women Voters of Kansas received the endorsement of Chief Justice Robert Davis of the Kansas Supreme Court on November 9, 2009.

  • Date:  October 17, 2009

    Location:  Topeka, Kansas

    Event:  Conference

    Partners:  Brennan Center for Justice; American Judicature Society; University of Kansas Law School; Washburn University School of Law; Institute for the Advancement of the American Legal System

    To launch the "Quest for a More Diverse Judiciary" education campaign, the League of Women Voters of Kansas held a day-long forum, “Does the Kansas Judiciary Reflect the Diversity of Our State? Why or Why Not?”, featuring keynote speaker the Hon. Rebecca Love Kourlis, Executive Director of the Institute for the Advancement of the American Legal System and former Justice of the Colorado Supreme Court.  Her remarks are available as a podcast.

    Speakers in other panels included Marla Luckert, Justice of the Kansas Supreme Court; Nancy Parrish, Chief Judge of the 3rd Judicial District; Wayne Lampson, Chief Judge of the 29th Judicial District; Patty Riley, Attorney; Ciara Torres-Spelliscy, Counsel, Brennan Center for Justice; Malia Reddick, American Judicature Society; Dale Cushinberry, non-Attorney Member of the Supreme Court Nominating Commission; Karen Hester, University of Kansas Law School, Director of Career Services and Diversity; Kelly Anders, Associate Dean, Washburn University School of Law; and Dr. Roy Braum, non-attorney member, 1st Judicial District Nominating Commission.

    The launch was complemented by a reception the evening before at the Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site for attendees.