Date: February 18, 2010

Location: Castle Tea Room, Lawrence, Kansas

Partners: Douglas County Judicial Nominating Commission; County Commissioners; Kansas University; Lawrence Bar Association

The League of Women Voters of Lawrence/Douglas County held a reception to celebrate the League's 90th anniversary and to get to know the Douglas County Judicial Nominating Commission and County Commissioners.  Attendees included Douglas County Commissioners Mike Gaughan, Nancy Thellman, and Jim Flory; Kansas 7th District Nominating Commission Members Joan Nitcher, Janine Cox, and Kurt von Achen; Douglas County Justices Robert W. Fairchild, Jean Shepherd, Michael Malone, Paula Martin, and Judge George; Lawrence Bar Association Officer Richard Hird; and Kansas University Administration Coordinator Karen Hester.