FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Martha Patzer
June 10, 2010 202-263-1332

Longtime Atlanta Resident Elisabeth MacNamara Nominated to Become Next National League President

Highlights and speakers include:

  • Secretary Kathleen Sebelius, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
  • Representative John Lewis (D-GA), civil rights leader
  • Hon. Carol W. Hunstein, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Georgia
  • Leslie Sanchez, author, columnist, political analyst, commentator
  • Elisabeth MacNamara, longtime Atlanta resident, nominated to be the League’s next national President
  • Robert Cooney, historian and author of Winning the Vote: The Triumph of the American Woman Suffrage Movement

WASHINGTON, DC – More than 600 delegates representing the League of Women Voters are gathering in Atlanta this week for the 49th Biennial Convention. “90 Years of Making Democracy Work: A History of Change. A Future of Hope” will take place June 11-15 at the Atlanta Marriot Marquis in downtown Atlanta. Hundreds of state and local members from across the country will celebrate the League’s 90th anniversary; elect officers and the Board of Directors; and adopt the League’s biennial program and budget. Unless otherwise noted, the following highlights are scheduled to take place in the Atrium Ballroom of the Marquis Atlanta Marriot, 265 Peachtree Center Avenue Northeast, Atlanta:

Speaker: U.S. Congressman John Lewis (D-GA)
Saturday, June 12, 1 pm

Speaker: Leslie Sanchez, author of You’ve Come a Long Way, Maybe
Saturday, June 12, 4:00 pm

Georgia Supreme Court Chief Justice Carol W. Hunstein*
Workshop: “Is the Quest for a More Diverse Judiciary Important? Is it Attainable?”
Monday, June 14, 3:30-5:00 pm. * NOTE: This event is taking place in Room A707

Speaker: Secretary of Health and Human Services Kathleen Sebelius
Tuesday, June 15, 8:30 am

Election of new League president, officers and directors
Longtime Atlanta resident Elisabeth MacNamara has been nominated to be the next national president of the League of Women Voters.
Tuesday, June 15, 10:30 am

Reporters interested in covering one or more of these events should contact Communications Director Kelly Ceballos at 202-321-3758 ( or Communications Manager Martha Patzer at 937-232-3483 ( from June 11-15.

Follow the League's Convention on Twitter and Facebook!


The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy.